Authorized OSHA Trainers in Utah
There is no official certification required to teach most OSHA training classes in Utah. However, you must make certain that on site OSHA 10 or 30-hour training classes are conducted by a trainer who is officially authorized to conduct these OSHA Outreach courses. The trainer must first complete a series of OSHA trainer classes provided by one of the OSHA Education centers located around the country. You can confirm their status as a currently authorized OSHA Outreach trainer by asking to look at their credentials proving they completed the following trainer courses.
Construction industry trainers must successfully complete the OSHA 510 course, followed by the OSHA 500 course. This qualifies the trainer to conduct OSHA 10-hour construction training in Utah and anywhere else in the USA and territories for a four-year period. The trainer is also authorized to conduct OSHA 30-hour construction training in UT and elsewhere. To maintain their status as an authorized OSHA Outreach trainer for construction, they must complete the OSHA 502 trainer update course every four years.
General industry trainers must successfully complete the OSHA 511 course, followed by the OSHA 501 course. This qualifies the trainer to conduct OSHA 10-hour general industry training in Utah and anywhere else in the USA and territories for a four-year period. The trainer is also authorized to conduct OSHA 30-hour general industry training in UT and elsewhere. To maintain their status as an authorized OSHA Outreach trainer for general industry, they must complete the OSHA 503 trainer update course every four years.
Be assured that our trainers who conduct on-site OSHA training classes in Utah are authorized OSHA Outreach trainers. Scroll down to see links to all of the on site OSHA training classes we conduct listed below.
Online OSHA 10 and 30-hour Training Courses Accepted in Utah
There are also OSHA-authorized online 10 and 30-hour training courses available for construction and general industry. However, you must pay close attention, as only those course providers that are specifically authorized to provide these courses can issue trainees the official DOL / OSHA 10 or 30-hour wallet cards. There are plenty of imitators out there who use deceptive fine print and “too good to be true” pricing to sell you a course that is not OSHA authorized. You can rest assured that the 10 and 30-hour online OSHA training courses offered on our website are authorized by OSHA, and are accepted in Utah as well as all other states and US territories.
Regulation of Workplace Safety & Health in Utah
The State of Utah operates an approved State OSHA Program (UOSH) that regulates OSHA training at most UT workplaces. The Utah state plan was initially approved on January 10, 1973 and was granted final state plan approval on July 16, 1985.
Utah OSHA Training Regulations and Standards
Utah adopted most Federal OSHA standards identically, but the state periodically supplements Federal standards with additional requirements. These supplements are found in section R614 on the Utah Labor Commission website. Supplements to federal standards found in the Administrative Code include the following:
- Section C – Record-keeping
- Section D – Employer/Employee Responsibility
- Section E – General Safety Requirements
- R614-1-5 Personal Protective Equipment
- R614-4 Hazardous Materials
Utah has several unique vertical state standards for the following industries which are also located in R614.
|R614-5||Materials Handling and Storage|
|R614-6-1||Crushing, Screening, and Grinding Equipment|
|R614-6-3||House and building Moving|
|R614-6-5||Livestock Butchering and Bulk Carcass Handling|
|R614-6-6||Motor Vehicle Transportation of Workers|
|R614-6-7||Hot Metallurgical Operations|
|R614-6-8||Elevators, Escalators, Aerial Trams, Man-lifts, Worker Hoists|
|R614-6-9||Filters and Centrifuges|
|R614-6-11||Boilers and Pressure Vessels|
|R614-7-2||Grizzlies Over Chutes, Bins and Tank Openings|
|R614-7-3||Cranes and Derricks|
|R614-7-4||Residential-Type construction, Raising Framed Walls|
Since Utah has opted to have no jurisdiction in maritime industries, the state has not adopted 29 CFR 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918 or a state equivalent.
Links to federal OSHA training requirements for construction and general industry are located below on this page.
The Utah State Plan applies to all public and private sector places of employment in the State, with the exception of Federal employees, the United States Postal Service (USPS), private sector maritime, Hill Air Force Base, Tooele Army Depot, which includes the Tooele Chemical Demilitarization Facility, and certain agricultural related operations (field sanitation and temporary labor camps), which are subject to Federal OSHA jurisdiction.
Utah OSHA Information
The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Division is part of Utah’s Labor Commission. There is one UOSH office that covers the entire state, located in Salt Lake City.
Utah Occupational Safety and Health Division
160 East 300 South
P.O. Box 146600
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
PH: (801) 530-6901
OSHA’s National Emergency Hotline telephone number is 1-800-321-OSHA.
Occupational Fatality Data (2020) – Utah
(1) – Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Utah OSHA Training Resources
OSHA Training Conducted at Your Site in Utah (see course links below)
On-Site OSHA Training Classes IN Utah
Request a proposal for On SIte osha training in Utah
Disclaimer: This information was obtained from the Federal OSHA website. OSHA Training Services Inc. makes every effort to ensure that the information on this page is accurate and up to date, but changes in state law and procedures affecting the information on this page are beyond our control. Contact state of UT state OSHA program staff directly to verify important information about Utah OSHA training requirements.